List of African Ballon Dor Winners

Find out which African players have ever won the African Ballon d'or since the creation of the prestigious award.
Ketcha Brandon
African Ballon Dor Winners

The Ballon d'Or is one of football's most prestigious individual awards, recognizing the best player in the world over the past year. While African players have made breathtaking contributions to the sport, no African player has won the Ballon d'Or as of now.

However, several African players have come close to securing the award and have been recognized for their outstanding performances. Here's a list of some notable African players who have finished in the top three of the Ballon d'Or rankings:

Table of Contents

What is African Ballon D'or?

The African Ballon d'Or, also known as the African Footballer of the Year award, is an annual football accolade presented to the best African football player. It is organized by France Football magazine in partnership with the Confederation of African Football (CAF). 

The African Ballon d'Or recognizes the achievements and contributions of African players both within the continent and around the world. The award considers the performance of players at both the club and international levels. It takes into account factors such as individual skill, sporting achievements, leadership qualities, and general impact on the game.

The winner of the African Ballon d'Or is determined through a voting process that involves national team coaches and captains from CAF-affiliated countries, as well as a select group of journalists and experts. The votes are collected and compiled to determine the final result.

The first African Ballon d'Or was awarded in 1970, with Salif Keïta from Mali being recognized as the inaugural winner. Since then, numerous iconic African players have received the award, including Roger Milla, George Weah, Samuel Eto'o, Didier Drogba, and Mohamed Salah, to name a few.

List of African Ballon Winners

1970 : Salif Kéita (Mali)

1971 : Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

1972 : Cherif Souleymane (Guinée)

1973 : Tshimen Bwanga (Zaïre, actuelle RDC)

1974 : Paul Moulika (Congo)

1975 : Ahmed Faras (Maroc)

1976 : Roger Milla (Cameroun)

1977 : Tarak Dhiab (Tunisie)

1978 : Karim Addul Razak (Ghana)

1979 : Thomas Nkono (Cameroun)

1980 : Jean Manga Onguene (Cameroun)

1981 : Lakhdar Belloumi (Algérie)

1982 : Thomas Nkono (Cameroun)

1983 : Mahmoud Al-Khatib (Egypte)

1984 : Théophile Abéga (Cameroun)

1985 : Mohamed Timouni (Maroc)

1986 : Badou Zaki (Maroc)

1987 : Rabah Madjer (Algérie)

1988 : Kalusha Bwalya (Zambie)

1989 : George Weah (Libéria)

1990 : Roger Milla (Cameroun)

1991 : Abedi Pelé (Ghana)

1992 : Abedi Pelé (Ghana)

1993 : Abedi Pelé (Ghana)

1994 : George Weah (Libéria)

1995 : George Weah (Libéria) ballon d’or européen

1996 : Nwankwo Kanu (Nigéria)

1997 : Victor Ikpeba (Nigéria)

1998 : Mustapha Hadji (Maroc)

1999 : Nwankwo Kanu (Nigéria)

2000 : Patrick Mboma (Cameroun)

2001 : El Hadji Diouf (Sénégal)

2002 : El Hadji Diouf (Sénégal)

2003 : Samuel Eto’o (Cameroun)

2004 : Samuel Eto’o (Cameroun)

2005 : Samuel Eto’o (Cameroun)

2006 : Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)

2007 : Frédéric Kanoute (Mali)

2008 : Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)

2009 Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)

2010 : Samuel Eto’o (Cameroun)

2011 : Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire)

2012 : Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire)

2013 : Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire)

2014 : Yaya Touré (Côte d’Ivoire)

2015 : Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2016 : Riyad Mahrez (Algérie)

2017 : Mohamed Salah (Égypte)

2018 : Mohamed Salah (Égypte)

2019 : Sadio Mané (Sénégal)

2022: Sadio Mané (Sénégal)

Final Thoughts: List of African Ballon Dor Winners

The African Ballon d'Or has played a crucial role in highlighting the immense talent and skill within African football. It has become a prestigious honor and a source of pride for African players and their nations. The award ceremony is typically held in January of each year, honoring the best African player of the previous calendar year.

I hope this provides you with an understanding of the African Ballon d'Or! If you have any more questions or need further information, feel free to ask.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many Africans have won the Ballon?

George Weah is the first and to date the only African to have lifted the prestigious Ballon Dor in 1995.

Who is the best African player 2023?

Napoli hotshot Victor Osimhen has clinched the Best African International Player prize at the Ghana Football Awards.

Who is the best African player in Premier League history?

8 Jay-Jay Okocha. 7 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. 6 Michael Essien. 5 Riyad Mahrez. 4 Sadio Mane. 3 Didier Drogba. 2 Yaya Touré 1 Mohamed Salah.

Getting Info...

About the Author

Ketcha Brandon
I am Ketcha Brandon, An article writer, content creator, Video producer, Financial Consultant and a certified Google Publisher. I write content for Our website provide information on topics such as bank accounts, Money transfers,…

Post a Comment

Cookie Consent
We serve cookies on this site to analyze traffic, remember your preferences, and optimize your experience.
It seems there is something wrong with your internet connection. Please connect to the internet and start browsing again.