Top 10 Players With Most Ballon D'Or Awards

Unraveling the Legends: The Top 10 Players Who Have Won the Most Ballon D'Or Awards
Players With Most Ballon DOr Awards

The are several individual trophies that a player can win, but  the Ballon d’Or is one of the most prestigious ones. A player that performs exceptionally in a calendar year receives this grand honour. France football honours individuals with this award after voting from journalists as well. Football has seen some incredible players play the sport over the years. They have won this award multiple times while winning it once is a major achievement in itself.

The Ballon d'Or, awarded annually by France Football magazine, represents the pinnacle of individual recognition in the world of football. Throughout its rich history, this prestigious award has been bestowed upon the game's most exceptional talents.

In this article, we celebrate the top 10 players who have claimed the most Ballon d'Or titles. These footballing legends have left an indelible mark on the sport and have solidified their places among the all-time greats.

Here is the list of the most Ballon D'or winners.

  1. Lionel Messi - 7 Ballon d'Or awards (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo - 5 Ballon d'Or awards (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)
  3. Michel Platini - 3 Ballon d'Or awards (1983, 1984, 1985)
  4. Johan Cruyff - 3 Ballon d'Or awards (1971, 1973, 1974)
  5. Marco van Basten - 3 Ballon d'Or awards (1988, 1989, 1992)
  6. Alfredo Di Stefano - 2 Ballon d'Or awards (1957, 1959)
  7. Franz Beckenbauer - 2 Ballon d'Or awards (1972, 1976)
  8. Kevin Keegan - 2 Ballon d'Or awards (1978, 1979)
  9. Ronaldo - 2 Ballon d'Or awards (1997, 2002)
  10. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge - 2 Ballon d'Or awards (1980, 1981)

Table of Contents

What is the Ballon D'Or?

The Ballon d'Or is an annual football award presented by France Football magazine. It is one of the most prestigious individual awards in the world of football. The name "Ballon d'Or" means "Golden Ball" in French. The award was first introduced in 1956 and is given to the best male football player in the world based on votes from journalists, national team coaches and captains, and sometimes fans.

The winner is determined through a voting process where each journalist or captain/coach selects their top three players. The player with the highest number of votes is crowned the Ballon d'Or winner. The award takes into account the player's performances throughout the calendar year, including both club and international competitions.

Winning the Ballon d'Or is considered a great honor and recognition of a player's exceptional skills and achievements. It is often seen as a significant milestone in a player's career and is highly coveted by footballers around the world.

List of the Most Ballon D'Or Winners

Some of the most notable winners of the Ballon d'Or include football legends such as Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, who have won the award multiple times. The Ballon d'Or has become a symbol of excellence in football and is eagerly anticipated by fans and players alike every year.

1. Lionel Messi - 7 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Arguably the greatest of all time, Lionel Messi has redefined the art of football. With his mesmerizing dribbling, clinical finishing, and unparalleled vision, Messi has claimed the Ballon d'Or a record-breaking seven times. His incredible consistency and unrivaled skill have made him a true icon of the beautiful game.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo - 5 Ballon d'Or Awards:

A force of nature on the football pitch, Cristiano Ronaldo is renowned for his physicality, athleticism, and goal-scoring prowess. With his remarkable goal-scoring record and numerous individual accolades, Ronaldo has amassed an astonishing five Ballon d'Or titles. His dedication and relentless pursuit of excellence have solidified his status as one of football's greatest ever players.

3. Michel Platini - 3 Ballon d'Or Awards:

French maestro Michel Platini was a master of his craft. With his elegant style of play and exceptional technical ability, Platini dominated the footballing landscape in the 1980s. His vision, passing, and goal-scoring ability led him to claim three consecutive Ballon d'Or awards, a feat unmatched by many.

4. Johan Cruyff - 3 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Johan Cruyff's impact on the game extended far beyond his three Ballon d'Or titles. The Dutchman revolutionized football with his innovative playing style known as "Total Football." Cruyff's exceptional skill, vision, and leadership qualities made him a true icon of the sport, leaving an enduring legacy.

5. Marco van Basten - 3 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Marco van Basten was a true goal-scoring machine. The Dutch striker possessed a lethal combination of technique, elegance, and clinical finishing. Van Basten's remarkable ability to find the back of the net propelled him to three Ballon d'Or victories, cementing his place among the game's greatest forwards.

6. Alfredo Di Stefano - 2 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Alfredo Di Stefano, a legendary figure in the history of Real Madrid, was a versatile attacking player known for his intelligence and leadership qualities. Di Stefano's contribution to Real Madrid's success in the 1950s was pivotal, and his two Ballon d'Or triumphs reflect his immense impact on the game.

7. Franz Beckenbauer - 2 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Franz Beckenbauer, known as "Der Kaiser," was a defensive stalwart who revolutionized the role of the modern center-back. His exceptional reading of the game, composure on the ball, and leadership skills earned him two Ballon d'Or accolades. Beckenbauer's influence on the game cannot be overstated.

8. Kevin Keegan - 2 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Kevin Keegan was a dynamic and influential player who enjoyed immense success in the 1970s. Known for his tireless work rate, skillful dribbling, and eye for goal, Keegan won the Ballon d'Or twice during his career. His impact both domestically and internationally left an indelible mark on the footballing world.

9. Ronaldo - 2 Ballon d'Or Awards:

The Brazilian phenomenon Ronaldo dazzled fans with his incredible speed, agility, and clinical finishing. With his explosive bursts of pace and natural goal-scoring instinct, Ronaldo secured two Ballon d'Or titles during his illustrious career. He remains one of the most iconic strikers to have graced the game.

10. Karl-Heinz Rummenigge - 2 Ballon d'Or Awards:

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge was a prolific German forward who excelled during the late 1970s and early 1980s. Renowned for his technical ability, intelligent movement, and deadly finishing, Rummenigge attained two Ballon d'Or honors. His contributions to Bayern Munich and the German national team were invaluable.

Final Thoughts on Top 10 Players with Most Ballon D'or Awards

These ten exceptional players have showcased their extraordinary talents on the global stage, leaving an everlasting impact on the sport. Their multiple Ballon d'Or triumphs serve as a testament to their exceptional skill, consistency, and dedication to the beautiful game.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has the most Ballon d or awards in history?

No other player than Lionel Messi holds the record of the most ballon dor wins. The Argentine super star has won the trophy a record 7 times.

How many world best has Messi won?

Messi has been named the Ballon d'Or/FIFA Ballon d'Or winner seven times- 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and 2021.

Who has more golden boots in football history?

Lionel Messi is the all time record winner of the award, having won it six times overall.

Getting Info...

Post a Comment

Cookie Consent
We serve cookies on this site to analyze traffic, remember your preferences, and optimize your experience.
It seems there is something wrong with your internet connection. Please connect to the internet and start browsing again.